ART: CELEBRATING LIFE

Ocean Beach:

A painting in watercolour © Lee-Anne Marie Kling 2016

 

Ocean Beach lies on the West Coast of Tasmania near Strahan. The wild winds of the roaring forties (between the 40 and 50 degrees latitude) attack the coast with relentless ferocity.

In 2001 I visited Ocean Beach with my family to see the mutton birds coming home to roost for the night. I barely stepped out of the car before the biting cold wind blasted me and I made a hasty retreat back into the car. No view of mutton birds that evening.

Ten years later, my mum and I visited Ocean Beach. While the East Coast was inundated with floods, Ocean Beach that afternoon was calm. We explored the beach, taking many photos of this rare state of the beach.

The reward of the experience—this painting in watercolour; one of my ten paintings exhibited with works from four other Marion Art Group artists in the SALA (South Australian Living Artists) Festival, at the Celebration of Life, SALA Art exhibition, in the Corner Uniting Church (Corner Oaklands and Diagonal Roads Warradale).

© Lee-Anne Marie Kling 2016

Leave a Reply

