K-TEAM ADVENTURES: TASMANIA

Making the Most of Mt Wellington

The cost of cheaper flights to Hobart via Melbourne? An early rise for a 6.25am flight, made earlier by day-light saving. I was reminded of a Monty Python skit and by the end of waiting at Melbourne Airport for four hours, I felt like I had risen before going to bed.
We had a moment when landing in Melbourne. With the high winds, the plane wobbled and tilted. Then it accelerated and rose up into the air. After another circuit of Port Phillip Bay, the pilot explained that the winds had been too high to land, but that with the second attempt, we would be on schedule for landing. I held my breath and prayed as the plane made another attempt. That time, we landed. I gave thanks to God. On my way out I thanked the pilot for landing us safely.

After an uneventful flight to Hobart, we drive our hire car, a Toyota Kluger, to Sandy Bay where we checked into our apartment. I tried phoning my auntie. No luck. Not home, apparently. So the K-Team decided it was shopping time. After a mini-tour of Sandy Bay, we found the supermarket; a car-park challenged-supermarket. Found one space and squeezed the Kluger into it. My husband found the reverse camera most useful.

As we piled out of the car, husband pointed. ‘There’s your auntie.’

So, that’s where she was, shopping for our visit. I ran up to her and tapped her on the shoulder.

After the formalities of introducing the K-Team and greetings, my auntie asked, ‘What are your plans?’

‘We were thinking of going up Mt Wellington but it’s getting late,’ I said.

‘Go up the mountain,’ my auntie advised. ‘You need to take the opportunity while you can. The mountain is all clear today. It’s not always like that. Tomorrow it could be covered in clouds and if it’s snowing, you won’t be able to drive up there.’

On her advice we drove up Mt Wellington. The advantage of daylight saving, still plenty of light to enjoy the view the top of the mountain offered. With an elevation of 1271 metres above sea level, the air was icy, but no snow. Hobart in shades of blue spread out each side of the glistening Derwent River. I shivered as the cold wind brushed my face. I froze even though I wore a fleecy jacket. Should’ve worn my beanie and gloves. Then a lady strode past, bare legs wearing a mini dress and light jacket. I shook my head and took refuge in the viewing kiosk.

We spent less than half an hour at the top of Mt Wellington before sinking back into the welcome warmth of the car and the drive down the mountain to visit my auntie.

© Lee-Anne Marie Kling 2016
Photo: Hobart from the Summit of Mt Wellington © Lee-Anne Marie Kling 2016

2 thoughts on “K-TEAM ADVENTURES: TASMANIA

  1. Loved the painting depicts the cold which you described. Yes we need to take each opportunity as it arises. I haste flying in turbulence but with prayer and skilful pilots God is always there with us. Prayer makes the uncomfortable easier to bear

    Like

Leave a Reply

