Computer Caper

via Daily Prompt: Caper

Reset Rescue—The Seed of Hope

 

The other day, the unthinkable happened—my Samsung smart phone went all huffy on me and refused to let me in. No matter how carefully I typed in my password, the phone spat out, “Incorrect Password”.

My husband, Mr. K said, ‘You’ve done something wrong.’

‘Maybe, I had,’ I replied, ‘but how do I solve the problem?’

‘Have you tried turning it off and on?’

I applied that clever nugget of advice, but my phone refused to cooperate.

‘My mobile has a button at the side you press,’ he who is all-knowing about computers mentioned.

‘Did that, but it’s not turning off. It only likes turning off when I’m signed in.’ I kept pressing the side button on my Samsung. ‘And I can’t sign in.’

‘Never have that problem with mine.’

‘Well, your phone must be superior to mine.’

‘But, of course.’

I released the side button and then removed the phone from its case. ‘Well, there’s only one thing to do. I hope this works.’

Mr. K resumed playing his game on his laptop. I proceeded to remove the back of my not-so-smart phone and excise the battery.

My beloved computer-expert looked up. ‘What are you doing?’

‘Forcing the issue.’ I figured that my mobile needed to “die to itself”, maybe such words are a bit strong, well, at least this rebellious device should have some time-out to calm down and think about its actions. I hoped by removing the battery, the forced turn off would resolve any recalcitrant files that made it all huffy in the first place.

Response from my husband—eye-roll and sigh. To him, I’d committed the unpardonable against my smart phone.

After a ten-minute rest, I reunited the phone with its battery and then switched it on. As if the password impasse had never existed, the Samsung accepted my password.

‘It’s working!’ I cried.

‘You shouldn’t have had to take out the battery,’ Mr. K muttered.

‘I know, but there seemed no hope unless I did so.’

 

© Lee-Anne Marie Kling 2017
Painting: A Sign of Hope, Waikerie (Acrylic on canvas) © Lee-Anne Marie Kling 2017 ~ Jesus said: Very truly I tell you, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds. John 12:24

 

2 thoughts on “Computer Caper

  1. Ah yes taking the battery out , putting back in and waiting before switching these devices back on they act as though nothing wrong and hey presto all fine . Modern technology suppose to work regardless.
    If only able to hit out in frustration towards this without the devices revolting dying never to work again.
    I guess they’re made to keep up in tact , don’t become big headed etc.
    Yes I love that Bible verse you used which reminds me I , myself have some study homework to do.
    Biggest problem our devices go off in the most opportune time when least expect & when we need them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

