Warning!

[Excerpt from The Hitch-hiker]

 

‘That can be arranged,’ Boris said. I read his thoughts of a thousand-strong army of Fox clones. He seemed pleased with the vision.

‘Oh, I wouldn’t want you to go to any trouble. I understand you’re very busy.’

‘No trouble. No trouble at all.’ Boris smiled, a sly curl of his lips.

The hairs at the nape of my neck stood on end. I had a bad feeling about this. I needed to warn the others. This man was bad news. He had to be stopped. I must break free of his spell that bound me. I must warn the others.

I returned to the back. I patted Minna on her knee. ‘Minna! Minna! Wake up, Minna!’

She swatted me. ‘Go away!’

I tapped Günter on his beanie.

His puffing changed into a loud snore.

Liesel snored so loud, I decided if she can sleep though that noise, she’d never wake. I failed to find any part of Johann buried deep in his sleeping bag.

I resumed my post next to Minna and tried to think. My heart fluttered, batting against my ribs. What should I do? I breathed in. I breathed out. Trying to calm down. Don’t panic. But stay awake. Think. It’s all too hard.

The van swung and swayed with the gentle rocking motion of a cradle. I don’t think I can deal with this right now. Boris and Fox droned on and on. My eyelids grew heavy. I yawned. Just a little nap. Then I’ll be able to think better.

But wait. The first rays of sun streaked the sky in pink and orange. I closed my eyes. Just a little nod of the head. A cat nap. Can’t do any harm. Just a little sleep. Then maybe breakfast…

© Lee-Anne Marie Kling 2015

Read more of this road-trip lead astray by Boris…Free on Amazon Kindle from Monday 7 August to Friday 11 August.

Feature Photo: Flinders Reflections © Lee-Anne Marie Kling 2000

 

2 thoughts on “Warning!

  1. Having this in a hard copy book this exert bought back memories. Ah that baddie Boris!
    I’ll be glad to see the last of him, his evil ways etc hurting innocent people.
    Keep up your pieces, enjoy them so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

